| Search | Tuesday 18 June 2019
Home Filipiniana Likha - Creations Books & Literature The National Artist of the Philippines

The National Artist of the Philippines

E-mail Print PDF

A National Artist of the Philippines is a title given to a Filipino who has been given the highest recognition for having made significant contributions to the development of Philippine arts, namely, Music, Dance, Theater, Visual Arts, Literature, Film, Broadcast Arts, Fashion Design and Architecture, and Allied Arts. Such Filipinos are announced, by virtue of a Presidential Proclamation, as National Artist or in Filipino, Gawad Pambansang Alagad ng Sining. They are then conferred membership in the Order of National Artists, the regalia of which is an ornate, gilden collar of honor. In addition to the collar, each newly proclaimed member of the Order is given a citation that is presented during the awardees' conferment ceremonies. The Cultural Center of the Philippines then hosts a Memorabilia Exhibit and Gabi ng Parangal (A Night of Tributes) for the National Artists at the Tanghalang Pambansa.

The National Artist Honors is administered by the Cultural Center of the Philippines (CCP) by virtue of President Ferdinand Marcos's Proclamation No. 1001 of April 2, 1972 and the National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA). The Government of the Republic of the Philippines confers the award to deserving individuals who have been recommended by both the CCP and the NCCA. The first award was posthumously conferred on Filipino painter Fernando Amorsolo.


Nominations for National Artist of the Philippines are based on a broad criteria, as set forth by the Cultural Center of the Philippines and the National Commission on Culture and the Arts:

* Living artists who have been Filipino citizens for the last ten years prior to nominationa as well as those who have died after the establishment of the award in 1972 but were Filipino citizens at the time of their death;
* Artists who have helped build a Filipino sense of nationhood through the content and form of their works;
* Artists who have distinguished themselves by pioneering in a mode of creative expression or style, making an impact on succeeding generations of artists;
* Artists who have created a significant body of works and/or have consistently displayed excellence in the practice of their art form, enriching artistic expression or style; and
* Artists who enjoy broad acceptance through prestigious national and/or international recognition, awards in prestigious national and/or international events, critical acclaim and/or reviews of their works, and/or respect and esteem from peers within an artistic discipline.

Nominations are then submitted to the National Artist Secretariat that is created by the National Artist Award Committee; experts from the different art fields then sit on a First Deliberation to prepare the short list of nominees. A Second Deliberation, which is a joint meeting of the Commissioners of the NCCA and the Board of Trustees of the CCP, decides on the final recomendees. The list is then forwarded to the President of the Philippines, who, by Presidential Proclamation, proclaims the final nominees as members of the Order of National Artists.



The Awardees

Francisco Arcellana
Virgilio Almario
N. V. M. Gonzalez
Amado V. Hernandez
Nick Joaquin
F. Sionil Jose
Bienvenido Lumbera
Alejandro Roces
Carlos P. Romulo
Edith L. Tiempo
Jose Garcia Villa

Go back to panitikan.com.ph

Last Updated ( Thursday, 23 September 2010 07:40 )  

Discover - Section Spotlight


Juan Luna’s works

MANILA, Philippines --Juan Luna was born in Badoc, Ilocos Norte, 150 years ago today. Ther...


Hits and misses at Manila Art 2010

AFTER LAST year, it was difficult not to look forward to Manila Art 2010. Last year meant ...


The Historic Landmark Manila Hotel

Inaugurated on October 6, 1912, the Manila Hotel is the oldest premiere five-star hotel in...